Our Board of Directors is affectionately called the “Dream Keepers.” In partnership with the ministry staff, these dedicated leaders develop and implement strategies that advance The Open Church’s mission and vision. However, their primary purpose is to cultivate the divine dream of radically inclusive love. To learn more about each member, click on their pictures below.

  • rev. brad r. braxton, ph.d.

    Founding Senior Pastor

    Dr. Braxton holds a Ph.D. in New Testament studies from Emory University where he was a George W. Woodruff Fellow.

  • florine mccready-lewis

    Chair, Board of Directors

    Ms. Florine McCready-Lewis is a Human Resources specialist with a MBA and Employee Relations Law certificate. In addition to being the Board Chair, she serves on the finance team.

  • dr. marco k. merrick

    Vice Chair, Board of Directors

    Dr. Merrick is a founding member of The Open Church and was the first chair of the Board of Directors. Our mission and vision compel Marco's ongoing commitment to service, justice, and diverse inclusion everywhere.

  • heather cronk

    Member, Board of Directors

    Ms. Cronk is a prolific community organizer and a founding member of The Open Church.

  • gregory murrill

    Member, Board of Directors

    Mr. Murrill has enjoyed a long career with the U.S. Department of Transportation. He holds a B.S. and M.S. in civil engineering from Temple University and Howard University, respectively.

  • la tanya simms

    Member, Board of Directors and Director, Finance & Administration

    Ms. Simms contributes tremendous leadership and organizational expertise. She coordinates our ministry activities and manages all administrative and financial functions.